The church has a rich history dating back to at least 1730, when area families began worshiping outside the Stamford Parish. In 1737 the Connecticut legislature, petitioned by 80 families, formed an Ecclesiastical Society separate from Stamford to be called Middlesex Parish. In 1739 a meeting was held in the John Bates homestead [now moved and known as the Bates-Scofield House of the Darien Historical Society] to raise taxes to build a meetinghouse.
In 1744 our church was officially organized as the Church of Christ in Middlesex; the community called its first “settled minister” with the ordination of Moses Mather (see plaque below), a man of 19 years who was teaching at Yale College; and the first meetinghouse, a white wood frame building, was built. Well-situated on the King’s Highway, the post route between New York and Boston, the meetinghouse was not only the first center of Christian worship for the community, it also served the spiritual needs of countless travelers.
For more detail read here: FCC Darien Pdf